fbpx

have a question for bobby?
ask away and you could see your answer right here on clampett’s corner!

Question

May 02, 2018

Bobby’s Answer

I stumbled upon a recent clip (NSFW) of a player whose putt was suddenly blown off line by a runaway leaf on the green. After this fluke incident, the player tried to regain his composure, tapped in his ball, and went about the remainder of his round.

However, seemingly unknown to him there is an interference rule that states the player must replay his stroke or be assigned a two stroke penalty. Additionally, because he did not follow this rule he was assigned an additional two stroke penalty for turning in an incorrect score card.

That’s crazy! A four stroke penalty all because of a leaf!

I can’t believe this ruling exists in golf!  I am not a fan of this ruling.  I think the player should have the option to replay the shot if he or she felt that the interference warrants a replay. This would get rid of any ambiguity in the ruling. When an object interferes with a player’s shot or a ball hits the power lines, sometimes the interference is negligible and a player should never be penalized in this situation.

Scroll down and listen to the clip of this incident from the Foreplay Podcast by Barstool Sports (Warning: NSFW) -they make a valid point that I wanted to share with you all. Sorry for the vulgarities in the commentary, it’s not me.

***Don’t wait to take strokes off of your golf game. CLICK HERE for a list of Bobby’s Signature Golf Schools!***

***Don’t wait to take strokes off of your golf game. CLICK HERE for a list of Bobby’s Signature Golf Schools!***

Comments

  1. this is a good rule

    all he had to do was replay the stroke without penalty

    his error was not understanding 19-1, which is eminently fair

  2. What is the Rule number for this? It wasnt a fixed obstacle and wasnt man made. Would a pebble that deflected the ball count?

    When a ball hits a person, I have never seen the Pros have to re-do the shot.

  3. There are some rules that need to be looked at and use some common sense in changing them. This is one of those.

  4. Bobby,

    A few weeks ago someone hit a bird at the RBC Heritage and I believe the ball went into the water. He was not allowed to replay that shot and was penalized for the ball in the water. Can you address the difference between a leaf and a animal interference? I love the game it is very difficult and the rules can be more difficult!

    1. Jimmy,
      This rule 19-1 only applies when a moving ball hits a moving object when playing a stroke from the putting green.

  5. Avatar
    mauriciogonzalezpar

    good afternoon thank you for showing this episode
    could you name to what specific rule you are referring

    “There is an interference rule that states that the player must repeat his stroke or receive a penalty of two strokes, and, because he did not follow this rule, he was assigned an additional penalty of two strokes for delivering an incorrect score card. ”

    Thank you

    Mauricio Gonzalez

    buenas tardes gracias por mostrar este episodio
    podría usted nombrar a que regla especifica se refiere

    “existe una regla de interferencia que establece que el jugador debe repetir su golpe o recibir una penalización de dos golpes. Además, debido a que no siguió esta regla, se le asignó una penalización adicional de dos golpes por entregar una tarjeta de puntaje incorrecta.”

    gracias

    Mauricio Gonzalez

  6. Avatar
    mauriciogonzalezpar

    good afternoon thank you for showing this episode
    could you name to what specific rule you are referring

    “There is an interference rule that states that the player must repeat his stroke or receive a penalty of two strokes, and, because he did not follow this rule, he was assigned an additional penalty of two strokes for delivering an incorrect score card. ”

    Thank you

    Mauricio Gonzalez

Leave your comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Recent Questions

Richard
November 14, 2019

So Bobby, why not start the swing in the impact position? It seems to me that would simplify the ability to be there at impact.

Read more
Darren
November 06, 2019

With the driver, how close should I stand from the ball at address?

Read more
Tom
October 25, 2019

I am having difficulty hitting the ball first and taking a reasonable divot with my 5 hybrid through pitching wedge. Where should ball position be at relative to position of feet and distance of ball from feet. Also, should I be focusing on the back of the ball?

Read more
Jeremy
October 16, 2019

What’s a good drill to help me maintain lag and keep my lead wrist flat when chipping?

Read more
Eileen
October 10, 2019

I’m heading to Scotland to play some of the great courses. Last time I was there, I was having a terrible time getting out of those pot bunkers. Can you help me understand how to make the ball go up quickly to get over those steep lips?

Read more
Sean
October 03, 2019

I have a buddy who’s shaved 5 strokes off his game just by doing your sand drill. Can you explain the drill?

Read more

Digital Academy

Digital Academy
LOOKING FOR THE SPECIAL TV OFFER YOU SAW ON THE GOLF CHANNEL?CLICK HERE